Our Board + Advisors

Forward Cities Board of Directors

  • Cathy Belk, CEO of Deaconess Foundation, Board Chair
  • Brandon Cosby, Executive Director of Flanner House
  • Alex Derkson, Corporate Counsel, Real Estate at Amazon
  • Jean Horstman, Founding CEO of Interise
  • Maurice Jones, CEO of Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC)
  • Walker Sanders, President of the Greensboro Community Foundation

Emeritus Board members include Paul Grogan, President of the Boston Foundation and co-Founder of CEOs for Cities, and Brian Payne, CEO of the Central Indiana Community Foundation and former Board Chair.

Strategic Advisors

  • Christopher Gergen, Founder of Forward Impact and Co-Founder and former CEO of Forward Cities
  • Jim Bildner, CEO of the DRK Foundation
  • Stephen Goldsmith, Derek Bok Professor of the Practice of Urban Policy and the Director of the Innovations in American Government Program at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government and the former Mayor of Indianapolis
  • Sheila Herrling, Senior Fellow, Beeck Center for Social Impact + Innovation and former SVP at the Case Foundation
  • Tim O'Shea, senior principal with Promontory Financial Group
  • Jan Rivkin, Bruce V. Rauner Professor of Business Administration at the Harvard Business School
  • Jeff Walker, Chair of New Profit
  • Matt McKenna, Executive in Residence at Georgetown University’s McDonough School of Business and former SVP of Finance at PepsiCo